HISTORY OF FRASER'S HILL,
Hill comprise of 7 hills in the District of Raub, Pahang, Malaysia
an engineering feat, a winding road was built weaving to the top at 1500
metres above sea level. From a small colonial hill station it is now a
major tourist destination offering some of the best outdoor recreation
and sports facilities.
Fraser's Hill derives its name from one of the
more colourful characters in Colonial history, James Louis Fraser, an adventurer
and fortune hunter. Stories about his life, included rumours that
he managed an opium and gambling den that was frequented by miners.
However, in the early 1900's, J.L. Fraser vanished,
never to be heard from again.
Later, in 1917, a couple of clergymen rediscovered Fraser's Hill on
one of their wanderings. Realising its potential as a Colonial hill station,
they managed to garner enough support from the authorities to build
a road linking the Kuala Lumpur - Bentong / Kuantan Highway to Fraser's
When the popularity of Fraser's Hill grew, the expatriate
community at that time took to building holiday bungalows on the
higher slopes to get away from the
unbearable heat of the lowlands.
Fraser's Hill at one time was the playground of rich miners and
planters from the
surrounding areas. One of Malaysia's earliest Golf courses was constructed
on Fraser's Hill in 1925 by engineer Frank Hemmant.
throughout the year at average temperatures of 58°F to 65°F (14.4°C
to 18.3°C), the attraction of Fraser's Hill as a tourist resort
has not diminished through the years.
Fraser's Hill is popular as a site for company retreats and tourists. The
golf fanatic will find enough here to occupy his day and non golfers may
decide to while away their time horseback riding or simply strolling down
picturesque lanes that weave through the green countryside.
The fresh mountain air is cool and invigorating and when dusk falls, the
blows in brings back memories of a simple, gentle era.